Contents of RSS feed for:

Home Electricity Monitor Testimonials
What householders around Australia are saying about their home electricity usage, when using a home electricity monitor as a critical part of their home energy reduction program. This RSS feed brought to you by Aussie Home Energy.
Trevor In SA Discovers Disconnected Appliance Still Using Power
After having the Aussie Home Energy monitoring solution running for six month or so, I would like to share with you my experience. Some of the reasons I am pleased I installed the system are:

* I have been able to identify some very inefficient appliances eg a fridge, which was replaced with one with a payback period of only 2 years
* I have discovered each of my two air conditioners consume about 180 watts each continuously when not operating. I now turn these off in spring and autumn, with significant savings
* I have found equipment that I did not know was being powered (eg an old decommissioned PABX panel that had not been properly disconnected from the power and was drawing a continuous 160 watts
* I now appreciate the cost of running my numerous stand by appliances and I try to minimise where practical. I am also conscious of stand by power ratings when replacing any items
* When I am away from home for extended periods it is good to be able to confirm that everything, including solar, is working normally

I have recommended your energy monitoring system to many of my colleagues.

I found your commitment to ensuring that each installation was properly working to be very commendable.
Published: Wed, 22 Mar 2017
Wayne In NSW Maximises Solar Generation And Slashes Power Bills
I found dealing with Aussie Home Energy a very satisfying experience. My motivation to monitor my solar input was too try and better match my consumption in real time.

The monitoring system was easy to set up, and the unsolicited backup calls from AHE was more than welcome.

To be able to match solar input too usage, has enabled better and more efficient usage of my system, thereby reducing my electricity bill.

Well done AHE for a simple but efficient system.
Published: Tue, 21 Mar 2017
Greg In NSW Cuts Power Costs And Sizes More Solar
Being a large household with high power costs, I had Aussie Home Energy come around and perform an Energy Audit. It was apparent after the event, we could do better by reducing power and by installing solar.

Once we had the solar installed we contacted AHE again for a suitable energy monitoring solution. The system was fully configured and took minutes to install.

The invaluable data from this system over time has allowed us to reduce imported power, maximise the use of our solar power and further size correctly an additional solar system upgrade.

After getting use to the real-time feedback, which allows us to make changes to usage, I cannot understand why more people do not have energy monitoring.

Simply put energy monitoring allows you to save the most off your power costs.

The support we got from Andrew at Aussie Home Energy has been accurate and strong at all times. Therefore I would have no issues recommending Aussie Home Energy to anyone looking to reduce those power costs.
Published: Mon, 20 Mar 2017
Neil In NSW Happy To See Realtime Data Convert To Savings
Calling Aussie Home Energy for an energy monitoring solution was one of my best decisions.

Andrew was fantastic with his advice and setting up all the devices purchased and online accounts was fantastic.

The app and tablet have been a godsend, showing instant data of generation/consumption/import and export. All together this is all you want to know.

Being able to see instant consumption when you turn an appliance on, compared to only generation, is where you can save lots of money.

Thank You Aussie Home Energy. Keep up the good work.

Regards Neil
Published: Sun, 19 Mar 2017
Adam In QLD Happy With Support And Plug N Play Energy Monitoring
I researched a number of systems before selecting Aussie Home Energy. I needed a solution that was web and app based to easily see consumption vs generation.

Andrew's support to get us up and running was exceptional and the system was plug and play.

I can thoroughly recommend the solution and love having total visibility on our instant and historic energy usage. Next step? Batteries!
Published: Fri, 17 Mar 2017
Ben In VIC Starts Experimenting With Batteries Thanks To Energy Monitoring
After installing my Solar PV System, I wanted to get an idea of how the system was performing and where I could improve my energy utilisation.

As a qualified electronics technician, I could have researched and installed my own monitoring system, but rather than re-inventing the wheel, I contacted Aussie Home Energy for some advice.

Andrew understood my requirements and suggested some options and after only a few minutes of discussion, it was apparent that he really knew the technology and was keen to help, rather than just trying to sell me a product.

I ended up purchasing a solution and was able to easily commission it without any issues. My system integrates with PVOutput and I now have a year's worth of data online.

Although I had basic utilisation data already available via my Energy Supplier's Web Site, the monitoring solution I purchased from Aussie Home Energy is far more granular, and I can separate out solar production, total utilisation, off peak utilisation and export power.

Having that detail, I was able to quickly identify what appliances and household activities were wasting power and when to best utilise the solar PV output to save on electricity bills.

As a result, I've recently begun experimenting with battery storage to offset my nightly base load (which is clearly visible thanks to the monitoring) to reduce costs even further.

In my view, running a Solar PV System without monitoring is like flying a plane without instruments. You can do it, but you won't have the full picture to get the best out of it.

Aussie Home Energy provides a first class service, and I'd recommend Andrew to anyone interested in installing a home energy monitoring solution.
Published: Fri, 17 Mar 2017
Ron In QLD Reduces Electricity Accounts By Up To 60%
Monitoring my Generation and Consumption has been invaluable in tweaking my energy reduction costs. I have managed to reduce my energy accounts by approximately 60% by introducing a Solar system.

With data supplied by the Aussie Home Energy Monitoring System I now know when I can use solar power to offset imported grid power.

I have two strings on my solar system and now have ability to drill down to panel level. This has allowed me to further expand one string, to better use summer solar energy to power air conditioners.
Published: Fri, 17 Mar 2017
David In QLD Very Happy With Electricity Savings
I have always been a keen solar advocate and your website and solution has allowed me to accurately monitor my usage and solar output.

With clamps on several lines I can now monitor how we use our electricity. I run a 3 kW solar system, soon to be raised to 5 kW and at 11c per kW solar bonus from my electricity supplier, my last quarter bonus was $81 with a total bill of $223.

Not bad for 2 people retired. All I can say is that I am more than happy with the whole setup and if you are contemplating any improvements, GO FOR IT!!!
Published: Fri, 17 Mar 2017
Graeme In NSW Discovers $600 Saving Off Power Costs
I have just installed the Aussie Home Energy Monitoring system, I was pleasantly surprised at how simple it was to get working. I am also happy with the accuracy of the readouts compared with the power specifications shown on some household items.

Also, the indications are less than 30 seconds behind actual event. After only 1 day it has highlighted that items permanently left on, are costing me well over $600 per year.
Published: Fri, 24 Feb 2017
Jane In NSW Is So Glad She Installed Energy Monitoring
After installing the Aussie Home Energy Monitoring System #3 we cannot understand how we have been living without electricity monitoring up to now.

We have just got the electricity bill and can already see a big reduction in costs.

Thank you Andrew for directing us towards one of your solar power monitoring solutions.

I have already go so much information out of the monitoring system and been able to make better use of our generated power. Electricity monitoring is exactly what we should have installed, with the solar power years ago.

It makes us wonder how much money we have sent back to the power grid. That could have been our next free holiday.

Thanks again Aussie Home Energy for your help in this matter.
Published: Wed, 05 Oct 2016
Sam In SA Is NOW Getting That Missing Power Data
Initial set up problems were overcome with constant support from Andrew. Without his help, guidance and PATIENCE I'm sure I would still be trying to figure things out.

My system is working well now and the information I'm getting is going to make a big difference to the way we manage our energy consumption.

The purchase of the Aussie Home Energy Monitoring System is well worth the small investment.

AHE Note: Install issues were created totally by the electrician NOT following simply instructions! Choose your sparkie well!
Published: Wed, 05 Oct 2016
Trevor In SA Happy With Energy Monitoring Outcome
Following concern over my ever increasing electricity bills in South Australia, I found the AHE website and decided to investigate further. Andrew, the owner was extremely helpful in explaining the system he offered and adapting it to suit my requirements.

He even guided me, through the use of a series of photographs, on how to tidy up my very messy 3 phase power board to make space for the necessary clamps and transmitters. Following his recommendations, it then took an electrician less than 15 minutes to rearrange my board.

The system arrived all set up and configured and within 10 minutes I had it installed and working and was immediately able to monitor my power online. My system included a number of additional transmitters and within the first day of installation, I was able to easily identify over 150 watts per hour of continuous unnecessary power wastage. This does not seem like much but over a year this represents about 1,300 Kwh or $430 at South Australian prices.

Andrew kept in contact with me throughout the entire process and while I am not particularly IT savy, I felt comfortable at all times.

While there may be many cheaper systems around, I would recommend to anyone considering power monitoring to first contact Andrew. You are unlikely to be disappointed.
Published: Fri, 05 Aug 2016
Peter In NSW Happy With Energy Reduction Consultation
What a pleasure doing business with Andrew and the team at Aussie Home Energy. The electricity consult was invaluable and then Andrew went out of his way to help me with some further questions and fittings of LED Lights.

My thanks and congratulations to a well run business.
Published: Fri, 15 Jul 2016
Joe From SA Happy With Energy Monitoring Outcome
I looked around for a long time to find a solution to monitor my electricity usage and found that most did not come up to my expectations.

I then found your website via a Google search and have not looked back. I thank you for the equipment that you sent to me already configured. It was a breeze to install and all works perfectly..

Also a big thank you for your prompt replies to my emails. I have recommended you to many people.
Published: Fri, 15 Jul 2016
Peter In SA Sick Of Cheap Energy Monitors
I have to write this testimonial to let others know how cheap electricity monitors are a real pain in the A**. There is nothing worse than monitors that for whatever reason simply do not work. Not connecting to the transmitter or failing to show the information I wanted.

This is not the case with what Aussie Home Energy offers. Their system was fully configured and setup online. I checked it out before I sent the electrician on his way.

I cannot thank Aussie Home Energy enough for talking me back into purchasing a ONLINE ENERGY MONITORING SYSTEM.

Thank you Andrew for your help and support. I recommend your energy monitoring business highly to others.
Published: Sat, 04 Apr 2015
James From NSW Sheds Light On His Solar Power System
Amazing is what I can say about this ONLINE ELECTRICITY MONITORING SYSTEM from Aussie Home Energy. All hardware and online dashboard fully configured was the top reason for choosing Aussie Home Energy. I have little time for technical details.

I had no idea of what was going on with my net metered solar system. Now I can see my consumption and generation, plus the import and exported power.

Great solution Andrew, I will recommend this to anyone with solar power.
Published: Sat, 04 Apr 2015
Kim In WA Discovers True Power Consumption Of His Home
I had a solar system installed in December 2014 and i was impressed by the generation it produced, but I found myself having to take notes each day at the meter, for generation/exports/consumption/imports which i found was way too tedious.

I then came across at Aussie Home Energy and after speaking to Andrew who i must say is a lot more than just a salesman, I purchased a 30 Channel Netsmart Gateway along with a 10A Socket Transmitter.

Once it was up and going, I found the data posted to PVOutput was incredibly accurate. Also with the 10A Socket Transmitter I am able to monitor any appliance in real time.

So to sum it up, if anyone has a solar system or is planning on getting one installed and wants to know where their money is going this is definitely for you.

Remember for the cost of the ONLINE ELECTRICITY MONITORING SYSTEM will pay for itself many times over and I can't rate it highly enough.

Thanks for all the support you gave me Andrew...
Published: Sat, 04 Apr 2015
Brad In NSW Discovers NET Metering Incorrectly Installed
I installed one of your ONLINE ELECTRICITY MONITORING SYSTEMS to try to get to the bottom of why the solar was not giving me good return. What your monitoring system has alerted me to is the fact the single phase inverter was connected to a phase with only off-peak. We should have had a poly-phase meter installed.

We worked this out by monitoring generated power, only to see it all exported. There was no offsetting of energy costs. We were told time and time again by the electricity company there was no problem!!!

After the electrician returned to install the correct meter, we are now offsetting correctly. Without your monitoring system, we would have been non the wiser. Thanks Aussie Home Energy, you have saved us heaps.
Published: Thu, 10 Jul 2014
Andrew In NSW Saves Contents Of Freezer Worth $$$!
Thank you Aussie Home Energy!! I cannot thank you enough for selling me the monitoring system!

I have just saved hundreds of dollars of frozen goods, thanks to the alert I got off your ELECTRICITY MONITORING SYSTEM monitoring system. Had we not noticed the freezer had tripped due to a fault, we would have lost valuable food stuffs.

Just to let everyone know of our situation at the time, we were on holiday and were checking the online data via a mobile app. Once we noticed the freezer was off, we called a neighbour to address the issue.

Thanks again Andrew. Your post installation support is out there on it's own.
Published: Wed, 09 Jul 2014
Peter In QLD Easily Monitors Consumption & Solar From His iPad
I had a dilemma. If I was going to invest money in a solar system, how would I know what is being produced, compared to my power usage? A problem quickly solved with an Aussie Home Energy monitor.

I had searched on the internet, but nothing provided me with the "live" solution that AHE offered.

I can walk around my home now with my iPad and easily see what my totals are, updated every 10 minutes.

Andrew was very good to deal with, answering complex questions in plain English and offered great support for the devices as well.

I would highly recommend spending the money, to get an ONLINE ELECTRICITY MONITORING SYSTEM , where you can easily check every day how your power / money is being spent.
Published: Sat, 12 Apr 2014
Michael In QLD Gets More Than Accurate Power Monitoring
Andrew at Aussie Home Energy has been great, in helping me to set up my monitoring system for my house energy use and solar generation. He has been quick to respond to any question I had, regarding installation.

The ELECTRICITY MONITORING SYSTEM they have set up, is great and very easy to use. It gives good up to date information on what is happening with the energy in my home.

I had used a couple of other systems before but they either stop working for some reason and would not come back on line.
Published: Sat, 15 Mar 2014
John In QLD Increase Power Savings Of A 6 Star Accredited Home
Recently I decided to attack our home electricity bills. We've recently built an accredited 6 star energy efficient home. However I wanted to ensure that what we were plugging into the house, didn't "sink" the house in unnecessary costs.

However I didn't have the tools to do this. I chanced across AHE's website and completed a query online. As this was a Saturday, I expected a call on Monday. However Andrew from AHE called me that afternoon.

I was immediately impressed by Andrew's understanding of my situation and clear advice. I ordered a ELECTRICITY MONITORING SYSTEM that day. I now can monitor all my electricity (solar and consumed power) and have identified culprits (PCs, A/C and chargers). For the first time I have accurate data to begin making informed decisions about how to save power.

This testimonial really isn't about the solution, it goes further. Andrew's tireless dedication to ensuring that everything was working 100% is something that I haven't experienced anywhere in the past years. AHE and Andrew are 100% dedicated to me getting the best advice 100% of the time. I could not recommend them any higher.
Published: Fri, 14 Mar 2014
Mirek In VIC Discovers Realtime Data Analysis Is A Real Eye Opener
Purchasing an energy usage monitoring unit from this business without a doubt, has proved to be an excellent decision. And the experience was a very pleasant one!

Aussie Home Energy provides a first class service, and thanks to their over the phone / email in-depth technical support, the installation of the unit was very, very easy and painless!

The unit generates a great deal of information by itself, but working together with the bridge device, is truly a fantastic ELECTRICITY MONITORING SYSTEM.

I'm fairly technically minded, so I thought I roughly knew how much power I exported into the power grid via my solar pv system and the distribution of household energy consumption. Things such as baseline / standby power usage for example, but nothing can substitute getting real-time data over an extended period of time of weeks and months. This monitor is a real eye opener!

I recommend Aussie Home Energy to everyone. Given the constant rise of energy prices these days, I strongly believe that every house should be equipped with such a system.

Thanks again Andrew for your great assistance and support, and good luck with your business!
Published: Tue, 17 Dec 2013
Mark Of WA Discovers 222 Watts Of Air Conditioner Standby Electricty!
Hi Andrew,

Your home electricity monitor is certainly a handy tool.

At lunch time I went home to check the POWER CONSUMPTION of large appliances, for example the pool pump, A/C etc. I was surprised to see the A/C [in heating mode] fluctuating between 3.97 and 4.83 kW. Obviously there is a lot going on here, with the A/C definitely being the largest power user in the home.

With all the electrical items in the house turned off at the wall, [the ones I could get to] I was still using 335 watts of power! Items I couldn't turn off were the cooker, microwave clocks, the A/C and pool pump timer displays.

Is this a normal amount of power, to be just burning away in the background? This seems like a huge waste of money!

Next I turned off the solar panels for the test and when I turned them back on it did reduce the power consumption [by generated power], so at least I know they are working.

On a later test of the system, I identified the item using the power [with everything else turned off]. As thought it was the A/C display and zone control, When I turned this off at the switchboard, the usage dropped considerably. For your information it uses 222 watts! Which I calculate is around $400 per year of STANDBY ELECTRICITY So this is going to get turned off, when not in use for six months of the year!

My base load for the home with the usual clocks and stuff turned on is around 83 watts (not including fridges which were turned off). With other essentials left on such as (Fish Tank, Fox IQ Wifi and Door Bell) my new base load is up around 173 watts.

As you say in your advertising blurb, the HOME ELECTRICITY MONITOR can totally pay for itself quickly, and I would have to agree. I must admit I am turning in to a bit of a power Nazi!

I am looking forward to connecting the second transmitter as a SOLAR MONITORING SOLUTION , so I can see what I am generating also on the monitor.

I have started educating the family as to when certain items should be used in the daytime. I now know the washing machine should be run after the dishwasher has finished, while the pool pump is running, Thus trying to use all of the solar generated power, whilst available without having to import any from the grid.

Thanks for all your help Andrew, you certainly have proven you get great "after sales" support, from Aussie Home Energy!

Cheers

Mark
Published: Wed, 08 Aug 2013
Scott In VIC Keeps Cool About Rising Electricity Costs
Late last year we decided to get on top of our never ending rising electricity bills. So we purchased a three phase home electricity monitor from Aussie Home Energy.

Our biggest saving was to be discovered on our AC. Where we learned the boost option, was costing us dearly! By understanding our AC usage & operation, along with other home electricity savings, we are now looking at a quarterly bill of $1500. Compared to a bill that was $2600!

So would we recommend this monitor as a way to start reducing electricity costs in the home? You bet we would, as for less than $200 and with a little education, we will be saving $1100 per quarter! And that's $4400 per year!

Thanks again Aussie Home Energy, for all your additional help.... 10/10
Published: Mon, 16 Jan 2013
Mick In NSW Learns More About The Tenant's Electricity Usage
Thanks AHE for your help setting up the monitor. Now both myself & the tenant know exactly how much electricity we're using. No more guesswork!

I would recommend your home electricity monitor to anyone in a situation similar to my own.
Published: Wed, 21 Dec 2012
Chris In NSW Slashes Electricity Costs By 50% Due To Billing Error & Findings
As a result of the discussions I had with you, after analysing my bill, I realised that my electricity provider had been charging me peak rates, for my off-peak hot water. After 1 hour on the phone sorting this out, I am getting a refund of $200 - $300 and a reduction on future bills of $180 a quarter. This refund has already paid for the home electricity monitor!

I also discovered that my pool pump and cleaner are taking a lot of power. Having reduced the pool pump to 6 hours a day from 8 and the cleaner to 2 from 8 I am now halving that cost.

We also discovered that putting the computer into sleep mode saves $10 a month. Heat lamps in the shower cost a lot and the air conditioner is costing 75c an hour.

I am further signing a 12 month contract with my electricity supplier, to save another 10% of the Gov gazetted rate.

Conclusion – I can reduce my bill by 50% from $1,800 per quarter to under $900. Thank you!!
Published: Tue, 08 Nov 2011
Geoff In NSW Discovers Why The Bill Was 30% More Than The Neighbours
When I compared our increasingly burdensome electricity bill with my neighbours, I discovered we were consuming 30% more electricity than they were and we have gas heating and hot water service whilst they are all electric.

Determined to identify and resolve this disparity, I searched the web for a suitable monitor finally settling on the AHE's 24/7 LCD Wireless Home Electricity Monitor as being the best fully featured device at a reasonable cost.

After spending 15 minutes installing the transmitter, I teamed the monitor with the Techtoniq Energy Station 2.0 software running on my PC. The next two days were spent in identifying specific appliances and lighting, that were contributing to the unsustainable electricity bill. A task made very simple by noting the immediate changes in the monitor's display as devices were turned on or off.

After several months use, my wife and I have become conscientious with regards to turning-off lights and appliances like TV’s when we’re not in the room and should we forget the monitor reminds us of our lapse with a higher than yesterday's reading, a really neat feature!

This little device is one of the best investments we have ever made and has already paid for itself, by helping us to reduce our electricity consumption by over 25%.
Published: Thu, 27 Oct 2011
Mick In Coffs Harbour Discovers A Home Of Standby Electricity
Your were correct in what you said about finding wasted electricity all over the home. We're still finding it!

I would recommend this great device, to anyone looking to cut their electricity. Thanks again for the audit.
Published: Wed, 19 Oct 2011
Carol & Tim In NSW Reduce Usage & Cut The Electricity Bill By 25%
WOW! We have learned so much in the past two weeks, about our electricity use & waste. We've calculated our next bill will be down by 23% or thereabouts. This is a large saving, in fact we will pay the monitor off, within two bills.

Thanks for your assistance in setting up the monitor. We would recommend this device to anyone looking to reduce electricity costs.
Published: Wed, 14 Sep 2011 22:42:54 GMT
Andrew In NSW Discovered Low Output On A Faulty Solar PV System
Due to the installation of your home electricity monitor, we found a fault with the solar array. We became aware very quickly of the fact, that the power generated was down considerably.

Thanks greatly for helping to make us aware of this fact. We would recommend the services & products to everyone who wants to know more about their electricity usage & generation.
Published: Mon, 05 Sep 2011 07:13:49 GMT
Joan In Coffs Harbour Performed A FAST Accurate DIY Electricity Audit
Last week we received our electricity monitor. All packaged well thanks. Using your portable battery supply, we were able to complete an audit of our home in about 4 hours. What a great addition.

Thank you so much Dennis for all your help in setting up the monitor. What a great and most helpful small business you all are.
Published: Tue, 30 Aug 2011 12:04:52 GMT
Neil & Sam In QLD Found The Monitor Paid For Itself In 5 Months
This testimonial has been a long time coming, as we've had the monitor for over a year now. We would like to say to anyone thinking of buying a monitor, that you need to do this asap. What we found was that we saved the cost of the monitor in the first 5 months!

We just kept on finding more ways to save on electricity costs. First was the standby, next was the awful halogen lights and finally my husbands supposed efficient beer fridge. We would both like to thank you AHE, for helping us see the light.
Published: Mon, 08 Aug 2011 06:20:56 GMT
Sam In VIC Reduced The Electricity Bill By 22%
This is a fantastic device. Since we installed the monitor in late June, we have reduced our electricity use by 22% or thereabouts. A great solution!

Thanks for the great backup service AHE. We would recommend your services and products to anyone looking to truly reduce electricity use.
Published: Fri, 05 Aug 2011 01:07:24 GMT
Harry In VIC Slashed Electricity Costs By 30% In Six Months
We have been using this monitor for over 6 months now. And we are still finding more ways to save on electricity costs! Overall we would say our electricity use has dropped by some 30%.

The help we received from AHE was 100%, when setting up the monitor. As both my wife and I are not to savvy with electronics. Thanks AHE.
Published:
Justine In VIC As A Tenant Now Has Accurate Electricity Costings
The most beneficial thing of the home energy monitor, is the fact I have an accurate reading of my usage. I live with my sister and her family. I am in a caravan out the back, so I had to monitor my electricity, so I only pay for what I use.

This gets quite costly when paying on an estimate especially with power going up the way it has. It is surprising how little power I am using actually. I thought it would have been more. I was definitely paying way more with an estimate.
Published:
Peter In NSW Steps Onto The Road Of Easy Electricity Reduction
Given the high cost of energy these days, my wife and I embraced the concept of being kept informed in real time, of just what electricity we were actually using day to day. Prior to purchase, our main concern was that such a device would turn us into electricity scrooges; however nothing could be further from the truth with AHE's Home Energy Monitor.

With it we discovered just how easy it was to determine on a daily basis what we were doing right and more significantly, what we were doing wrong. Basically it has provided us with a more accurate understanding of how to use power correctly, which will ultimately translate into dollar savings for us and equally as important, a saving for the environment!
Published:
Updated: Wed, 22 Mar 2017 00:29:03 GMT
The URL to provide to an RSS aggregator when subscribing to this feed: http://aussiehomeenergy.com.au/hem_testimonials_rss.xml
(For more information about RSS see: What is RSS?.)